The Royal Geographical Society of Queensland Ltd

Log in


RGSQ Administration 2021/22

The Society is managed by a voluntary Council elected from its members. The Council is supported by the office staff and various committees of members.


Mr John Tasker

Vice President

Dr Iraphne Childs


Ms Kath Berg

Dr Annie Lau

Mr Robert Cook
Dr Jonathan Corcoran
Dr Patrick Moss

Ms Giselle Pickering

Ms Pamela Tonkin

Dr Steve Turton

Lilia Darii (Business Manager)
Rosie Catt (Administrative Assistant, Monday and Tuesday)
Ms Rachel Honey (AGC Coordinator)


Australian Geography Competition: J Davis (AGTA) and  K Berg (RGSQ) (Co-chairs),  S Albertson (AGTA),  J Tasker (RGSQ), T Bourke (Independent),   R Honey (AGC Coordinator, ex Officio)

Geography's Big Week Out Sub-Committee: J Davis (Chair), K Berg, L Conti, C Efthyvoulos, 

Collections: R Cook (Chair),  R Carlisle,  J Graham, P Lloyd, P Nunan

Finance: A Lau (Chair), L Darii, I Harding, C Spriggs, J Tasker

Honours: D Wadley (Chair), D Cook,  J Holmes,  K Berg

Property: P Tonkin (Chair), D Stephens

Publications: I Childs (Chair),  J Corcoran, K Rees, I Bailey

Scientific Studies: I Childs (Chair), A Lau, P Moss, T Sigler, S Turton

Treks and Activities Committee: C Spriggs (Chair), R Carlisle, J Lamont, B Reid, R Grimley

Young Geographers: John Tasker & Giselle Pickering (Co-chairs)

Ken Sutton Selection Panel: I Childs (Chair), D Cook, A Powell (MLA)

The Constitution, Policy and Reports of the Society can be viewed here . . 

Honours Committee

The Honours Committee develops and presents recommendations to the Council for the granting by the Society of special Awards to individuals who have made a significant contribution to the advancement of geography in a variety of ways. Such individuals may be academic geographers or members of the Society who have made an outstanding contribution to the furtherance of the objectives and/or conduct of the Society. The committee may recommend to Council the establishment of additional Award categories, or variation to the eligibility criteria. The Committee makes recommendations to Council each year for Fellowship Awards and the JP Thomson medal. These recommendations are presented to the Council in a timeframe that enables Awards to be announced at the Society’s Annual General Meeting.

Please address any comments to the Honours Committee at

Property Committee

The Property Committee attends to matters about the property of the RGSQ. One of the major roles is to ensure that staff, members and visitors are safe onsite at Gregory Place. There are relevant safety guidelines for Australia and Queensland.

The property committee encourages members and visitors to discuss any questions that come to your attention from standards or procedures from your RGSQ experience. There are safety helmets and vests for the identification of a leader in any emergency situation. These are located near the Library area and are only for an emergency or use in a training event. The property committee has been busy with our storage area in the lower level, cleaning, stacking and removing any broken items. Here, on the first floor we have been able to assist with improving the shelving in the storeroom. The map group has been able to better store maps within areas of our first floor, with assistance from property committee.

Please address any comments  to the Property Committee at

The Royal Geographical Society of Queensland Ltd
Gregory Place, Level 1/28 Fortescue St, Spring Hill Qld 4000
Tel 07 3368 2066
ABN 87 014 673 068 | ACN 636 005 068

Privacy Policy  |  Contact Us  |  © RGSQ

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software